Tags

, , , , , , ,

Pre-post side-note: I’m back on the wagon for Twitter (off the wagon, on the Twitter train…  I probably should have gone with something else).  Not sure it if will last, but since I probably won’t have much of a chance to blog while I’m in New Orleans, it might be a good alternative for me until I’m back home.

On to food.  I made homemade energy bars!  They’re sort of gooey, not dissimilar to an oatmeal cookie.  But energy bars, they are.  I adapted the recipe from Practical Hacks.  (There were a few recipes I got ingredient ideas from, but ultimately, anything that gets me closer to using the cubic ton of nonfat dry milk powder I have is the winner.)

I just bought a new protein powder at the mall this evening.  After my first ever Stila makeup purchase!!!  But that’s neither here nor there.  The powder is vanilla Spiru-tein.  It smells delicious, and sort of like a Mickey Mouse muffin mix I used to get when I was little.  I won’t really know what it tastes like until I try it straight up.

Dry Ingredients:

  • 3.5 cups rolled oats
  • 2.5 scoops vanilla protein
  • 1.5 cups nonfat dry milk
  • 0.5 tbsp cinnamon
  • 0.5 cups raisins
  • 0.5 cups dried mixed berries

Wet Ingredients:

  • 0.5 cups unsweetened applesauce
  • 0.5 cups water
  • 0.5 cups agave nectar
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 tbsp flax seeds
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine dry; combine wet; combine dry and wet.  Spread into a lightly greased 9×13 pan, and bake at 325*F for about 25 minutes.

The recipe really is adaptable.  I would have rather used some mashed bananas, but we ended up not having any in the house.  And I had my heart set on golden raisins after I tasted them last week.

Wouldn’t that box imply golden raisins to you?

Yeah.  Not so much.  Regardless, I like how they turned out.

They taste good–somewhere in between cinnamon raisin and berry-something.

Post-post side-note… I just realized none of my emails have forwarded, in something like six months.  It was a new set-up, so I guess I just assumed I wasn’t receiving any fun mail.  And so many random comments and fun things are just sitting in my ignored mailbox!  So sad…  Yes Emily, I should have said that Kate & Leopold is a cute, silly chick-flick of a movie, on 9/20/2010.  Oh my gosh, and HEAB, thank you for your all of your comments that I never, ever got to see!  I can’t believe there were so many missed chats I could have continued.  Curses to gmail (and not at allllll user error).  I feel so embarrassed.  It sucks, but I sort of feel the love, too.  I can’t believe there were that many responses!  🙂

