Tags

, , , , ,

Last night continued recipe week!  (Today was a postpone, since we all wanted a little cheering up and hanging out, and picked up Chinese food.)

I made Miss Oh She Glows‘ chickpea soup, and oh my, was it amazing.  Everyone’s been saying it’s like a bowl full of hummus, but I honestly think it’s more delicious.  I always end up forgetting about hummus in my fridge and not finishing it after my craving’s gone.  But this, I was dreaming about all morning until my leftovers at lunch.  It made me happy about recipe week.  And I haven’t even gotten to the recipe that uses my homemade seitan from last night… which I kept slivering bits off… quality assurance.  For the sake of convenience, I’ll post the recipe how I did it.  I kept it almost exactly the same as Angela.  And am so glad I did.  It was preceeded with a little appetizer waffle.  Don’t tell me you aren’t jealous.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 bay leaves (thanks, mom)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • dash black pepper
  • lemon zest & lemon juice, from about 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 15-oz cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp tahini (remember when dawn is munching on tahini in the babysitters’ club movie?  i thought there would never be a day i would be so cool.)

Directions:

  • In a large pot, saute onion in olive oil over medium, stirring occasionally, until softened.
  • Add garlic, cumin, bay leaves, salt, pepper, lemon zest, and lemon juice. Stir it up and cook over lower heat for about 5 minutes.
  • Add the rest of the ingredients (chickpeas, broth, water, & tahini). Stir, bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer for about 5 minutes, or until you’re finished cleaning up.
  • Remove from heat, find the 2 bay leaves, and plug in your immersion blender. I went around several times. And I didn’t burn myself once! I tried to get it looking pretty, and not all chopped up, but left it chunky so there were delicious bites of onion and a few whole chickpeas.
  • Garnish with a olive oil and paprika. I found out the hard way that (fresh) paprika actually does have a taste. Don’t go overboard like someone else might have.

  • Day-after lunch leftovers are amazingly freshened up with even more lemon juice. I never opt for a real lemon, and always use the bottle in the fridge. But there were so few ingredients, I splurged with the $0.40. It made it so, so incredible. It almost tasted like too much, but it made the soup so cozy and bright.

* * * * *
Tonight, I did a little baking for Relay for Life.  Last year, since I’m so bad at soliciting, I used bake sales as a way to raise money.  I fit a lot of baking into a very short period because I joined late, and I got a bit burnt out.  So this year, I’m spreading it out.  This week, peanut butter bars.  They are not health food.

I actually don’t want to post them on here.  Please refer to Mama Pea for the best ever, still not health food, peanut butter chocolate snack.

These aren’t good, but they are so good…  And they were a giant success last year.  Shocking; they’re only the best combination ever.  They don’t call for baking, so they were perfect for my “off night from the kitchen” (which still probably involved an hour).

New movie just came on that’s on my list, so I’m off!  And I will be saying my gym mantra over and over until bedtime to hopefully talk myself into making it tomorrow morning.  It would be my first time back since I got sick a long while ago, so it will be hard to actually commit.  Still not sure if it’ll happen by tomorrow.

