Tags

, , , ,

I don’t think I’ve ever had a more productive Monday night. Nothing at all exciting, but I folded a lot of clothes, my room looks more inhabitable, I did laundry. And I made dinner!

Recipe week started off with a great success. I say this only because I thought it was delicious, not because it’s the best one ever. I had one colossal fail the only other time I tried making chili, shortly after I went vegetarian. No one in my house could eat it because of how spicy it was. It was awful. Tonight, much better results. My aunt and Melissa both liked it, and I can’t wait for leftovers.

I basically combined two recipes: Ashley’s Veggie Chili and Kath’s Throw-in-a-Pot.

Pieces:

  • tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 5 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 dash cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 15-oz can kidney beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 15-oz can black beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 15-oz can pinto beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 cup frozen okra
  • 1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 15-oz can fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 3 tbsp tomato paste

To Do List:

  • chop the veggies. start with the onions, and add them as you go.  avoid perfectionism, and keep it rustic.

  • saute the onions with cumin and olive oil over medium heat until soft.  i didn’t time it.  i actually didn’t even check for softness.  i just kept dicing and adding.
  • add pepper, garlic, and spices. saute for a few minutes more.
  • rinse & drain the three cans of beans.
  • add everything else. bring to a boil. simmer for 20-30 minutes.

Does anyone else have as much trouble measuring as I do?  I’m always really, really interested to find out how much it really made, and what a good serving should look like.

Tonight, we topped it with plain greek yogurt and the last of my raw sharp cheddar cheese.  I have big plans to make some into a wrap for lunch tomorrow.

And now I’m watching Into the Wild and drinking a glass of sweet red. Pleasant dreams tonight, everyone!

