Tags

, , , , , , ,

(If my trip later this week was to New Orleans instead of Orlando, I would have gone for it and called this Nola Granola.)

I’m beginning to think no granola is bad granola… I guess as long as you don’t burn it.

Out of my three-item to-do list for this afternoon,
*  Do laundry
*  Pack
*  Make granola for my trip,
I accomplished the granola. And have decided to just make sure my packing list is updated, and worry about the actual packing tomorrow. I think as long as I pack and launder by Tuesday, I’ll be very happy to destress and unwind Wednesday night.

Granola, packed in a ball jar, with plastic bags for my trip (as long as I don’t finish it before take-off Thursday morning).
*bake at 315*F for 15 minutes, stir, and bake another 15*

Bits

  1. rolled oats (2.5 cups)
  2. cocoa-roasted almonds (1/2 c)
  3. ground flax seeds (1/4 c)
  4. cinnamon
  5. vanilla extract (tsp)
  6. grade b & light maple syrups (1/2 c total)
  7. grapeseed [or canola] oil (2 tsp)
  8. natural peanut butter (2 tbsp)
  9. dried cherries & dates (1/4 c total)
  10. cacao nibs (2 tbsp)

Notes

  1. I used 0.5 cups quick oats with 2 cups old-fashioned oats. They add chewiness, but I only like a tiny bit.
  2. Mix up the wet ingredients and peanut butter before adding them to the dry ingredients.  I put it in the microwave for a few seconds to soften up the PB.
  3. A normal oven should be set around 325*F.
  4. To keep things cooking evenly, use a big spatula to turn at the halfway point. For big chunks (which are obviously the best thing about granola), don’t stir any more than that.
  5. I added the dried fruit at the halfway point, and the cacao nibs after the granola had cooled off.
  6. Absolutely wonderful, and eaten for lunch at the last minute, in some almond milk.

After my clean-eating granola, I kept the tradition going at dinner, and had one of the most delicious, healthy meals I’ve had in a while. Incredibly straightforward, but awesome… A serving of wheat pasta with zucchini, onions, and mushrooms sauteed in a tsp of olive oil, mixed into about 1/2 cup generic pasta sauce.

And please also allow me to share this photo with you from postsecret today. Instead of looking them over with a delicious mug of coffee like usual, I am just going through them now.

