Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Or, Kristen’s Attempts at Vegan Baking

Holiday preparations actually just included baking yum-yums, laundry, and a lot of putting away clothes.  The bedroom got pretty bad this time, so it took a bit of sorting.  It will be pretty again by Christmas, though!  I mean Saturday!  🙂

Breakfast was amazing this morning.  I slept for ten hours, made some New Orleans coffee, and let some irish oats simmer.  I made them fancy.  And made enough to have a bowl leftover for tomorrow.

In the pot:
2 servings of irish oats
1 cup almond milk
1.5 cups water
0.5 T chia seeds
2 packets of Splenda
1 tsp vanilla extract

I’m not sure if you can see just how thick and creamy this was.  I used more liquid, because I wanted to add chia seeds and make a bigger bowl, and it came out great.  Next to that…

In the second pot:
1 c blueberries
1T chia seeds
2 packets of Splenda

I got this idea from (never home)maker, when Ashley smashed some strawberries for her oatmeal.  Amazing! (I didn’t go for the tea-steeped oats, or the peanut butter.  I think I’ll split them up into three different oatmeals.)  I put 1 cup frozen blueberries in a small pot over medium-low heat until they thawed and started softening.  I considered some cornstarch, but trusted my chia seeds.  Took a fork to the blueberries, added 1 Tbsp chia seeds, and let them get gooey while the oatmeal finished.

I divvied up the oatmeal and topped both servings with the blueberries.  Today’s also got a little drizzle of agave syrup.

This afternoon, I set to work on my vegan holiday present for Melissa.  She isn’t vegan, but wanted a vegan dessert.  Mama Pea was the rescue, after considering just not following through.  I found some awesome Earth Balance at Walmart yesterday.  It was delicious on a piece of bread, when I just had to taste it as soon as it was home.  It’s not light or whipped at all, so it’s got as many calories as butter.  I will be going sparingly.  But it’s fun to find something vegan that is just as delicious.  I have said before that I feel like I go too heavy on dairy and other things sometimes.

The project was peanut butter cookie dough balls from Peas and Thank You.  Can’t wait to see her cookbook next summer!  The balls came out great (see the link to her post for more witty innuendo related to this).

I didn’t have, nor could I find in the three minutes I allotted, non-dairy chocolate chips at the store.  I bought a 100% Ghirardelli chocolate bar, and had some Baker’s unsweetened baking chocolate here.  They were exactly the same.  At first, I thought I would chop them up and roll them on powdered sugar.  But I really doubted it would work.  I tasted one, and then the other, because apparently the overwhelming horrific reaction wasn’t enough one time around.  So I melted 6 oz in the microwave, and added 4 Tbsp.  Not the most direct way of getting to chocolate, but I used what I had, and still got to something vegan.

So I let this cool, and broke it in pieces into the dough.  There was a lot of chocolate.  And the dough was incredibly crumbly…  I had some issues with it trying to escape from the mixing bowl.

But after reading Mama Pea’s second go at cookie dough balls, I found out that adding the possible almond milk would make them less ball-shaped.  So I just kept some of my fingers crossed while I was assembling.  And there was success!

this is unbaked.

 

and this is baked!

 

I didn’t change anything from the recipe.  I even accidentally used the same exact peanut butter she did, hahaha.  I can’t wait to hand them over.  Their mason jar will soon be made festive with some pretty ribbon.

