Tags

, , ,

What an overwhelming night of television.  I stayed at Melissa’s house all the way through Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice.  That might be just too much for one night.  It was the sort of television where I’m left thinking… Gosh, so many of my problems are just unimportant.  And when it comes down to it, if we could all just be good to each other, that’s all we’d need.  What an outlandish concept sometimes.

So getting back to the small, awesome things in life, right alongside human compassion and world peace, I present my winter version of pasta salad.  😉  I feel it becoming a shining star of my winter dinner line-up.  (Along with soup… which I’ve had a love/hate relationship with over the past year.)  This was from an assembly line of veggies that looked appealing when I opened the big freezer.  I wanted to try it warm, so I cooked up the veggies in a pan and then threw on the dressing.  Success!

The bowl: a serving of whole wheat rotini, 2 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette, brussels sprouts, red bell pepper, sugar snap peas, & parmesan cheese.  So good.  I forget how delicious frozen brussels sprouts are when they’re browned up in a pan.

Pasta salad is my favorite way to get in a bunch of veggies.  Not as clear in this bowl, but back when I was planning ahead for meals, grocery shopping and the like, I would end up putting just about a head of broccoli into a serving of pasta.  So good!  And I guess broccoli will be making it onto my shopping list for next week.

Look at the flowers from last weekend.  They turned out so pretty…. Much better than the mangoes that contributed to them!  :-p

