Tags

, , , , , ,

Taco filling for dinner tonight.  I haven’t thought to make this in a while.  Soy chicken strips make it so fast to throw together… just like the gigantic bag of cut bell peppers my dad keeps in the basement freezer.  I’ll be hitting that up a lot this winter.

In the mix, after all was said and done: 2 big handfuls red, yellow, & green pepper, 1/4 large onion, 1/4 cup frozen corn, 1 package chicken strips, 1/4 cup mixed beans, and 4 tsp taco seasoning.  I plated up 1/3 of the recipe with 1/2 cup amaranth, 1/2 oz cheddar cheese, and 1/2 of a plantain.  Amaranth is one of my favorite grains right now.  I only got a small amount when I shopped the bulk section of Wegman’s over the summer, but it’s great.  It looks like it has even more protein and fiber than quinoa.  It gets sort of thick or creamy when it cooks…  in between porridge and quinoa, I’d say, but in a delicious way.

After dinner, I set to work on my first round of bake sale goodies for Relay for Life!  All my weekend plans were for yesterday, so I had time on my hands, and a bunch of miscellaneous frostings left over.  I cooked up a batch of cupcakes, and spent a while frosting and practicing at the kitchen table.

I’m pretty happy with how they came out, and excited to have even more fun with other rounds to come.

I love that I have so many months to work toward the Relay.  Last year, I only found out about it 2 or 3 months out, and when I decided to bake instead of beg, I was in the kitchen basically every night until midnight.  I didn’t really mind, since I had a great time baking, but I was completely burnt out afterward.  Hopefully I’ll have a chance to raise even more money this year.  It’s such an amazing organization.

I’m having some trouble reconciling cake decorating class with my efforts to continue making healthier food choices.  My plans and most of my meals are great, and I’m happy with them as far as nutrition goes.  But I still struggle to behave when there are too many sweets lying around.  I worry that I’m a bad influence sometimes, too.  It might sound silly when I’m talking about my parents, and since I’m the baby in the family, but I know a few good habits rubbed off on my mom.  Now with the realization that diabetes is so big on that side of the family, I think I need to strive to be an even better influence.  I’m not sure what to do…  Leading by example is a great start, that I still haven’t worked up to, but I wish there was something more than that.  At least I know I can take more steps myself right now.  I think I’ll also make it a point to not practice cake things at home too often, and take them all into work for the fundraising.  Time for a little lemon water and another episode of Work Out before sleep time.  This show has been awesome recently, to get me motivated and feeling positive.  🙂

