Tags

, , , , ,

I’m all packed!  And still worried about it.  But only mildly.  I’m so tired.  The alarm will probably be set for 4:45.  I don’t have to get there so early, but it makes me comfortable and relaxed to know I can just stand around and take my time to figure everything out.  I have breakfast all ready in the fridge, too.  I wasn’t going to eat, but I figured I might as well get off to a good start, since I’m not sure how the food situation will go once we’re there.

I’m going to keep it short.  But I have a recipe to share!

Show Cookies

I wanted something to keep on my in case I don’t have the best food choices… something like a breakfast cookie, with a lot of protein. I tried these last week, and then made a few more tweaks. I didn’t like the first one, and was completely hooked by the time the first batch was through.

Wet Ingredients:
Combine these into a small bowl and let sit. The magic happens while it hangs out (the chia and flax seeds with the water).
1/2 C water
0.5 T vanilla extract
1 T ground flax
1/2 T chia seeds
0.5 T corn oil
3 T applesauce

Dry Ingredients:
Stir together in a medium bowl.
1/4 C white whole wheat flour
1/2 C rolled oats
1/4 C chocolate protein powder
1/4 C + 2 T peanut butter powder
1/4 C sugar
T cocoa powder
3/4 tsp Baking powder
pinch salt & cinnamon

Bake at 350*F for 13-14 minutes.

This time, it made 21 cookies. For 3 cookies: 130 calories, 3 grams fat, 3 grams fiber, 9 grams protein.

I broke in mama’s new cookie scoop for them!  It was probably more fun than it should have been.

I have just enough to last me a week (or for my whole trip if I have them twice on a few days).

