Tags

, , , , ,

I had a foul-feeling Monday. I took the day off. Work was mopey, my night was maybe even too low-key for my tastes, and I didn’t have exciting food to include… except this very green lunch sandwich:

It was very simple, but somehow great. The avocado tasted better after being cut open overnight…? This never happens. It included:
wheat bread
tempeh
raw & cooked spinach
sliced avocado
smushed avocado with garlic powder, cumin, & coriander

I woke up this morning on a better side of the bed, I guess. I read a quote from Buddha last night that really got me…

The mind is everything. What we think, we become.

I think my rut of late is basically self-inflicted. I know I’m not bad-off, not even close. It’s just that life isn’t working out how I would like it to just yet. I’m sure it’s all because I can’t make a decision to save my life (fittingly enough), and have not pushed myself any harder to get going with it already.

It’s been a positive day all around. Every day needs to be like this – happy because I say so, even when nothing has changed. 🙂 I started off with breakfast at home. Usually I wait until I’m hungry at work, but I wanted to have something to sit down with this morning. And I wanted to start off with lots of vitamins, since there are a lot of germs bouncing around at work right now.

In the mix:
1/2 cup blueberries
2 tbsp rolled oats
2 tbsp orange juice concentrate
a packet of vanilla weight watchers smoothie mix
2 baby handfuls of baby spinach
little bit of crushed ice

It was perfect! The weight watchers packets are interesting…  They’re sort of like a nonfat dry milk powder / protein powder / smoothie thickener in one. (I don’t use them for anything else. Hot, they are gross, and reconstituted, they’re pretty gritty.) The vanilla is great, and the chocolate, too. I tried a seasonal peppermint mocha that was tragic, and still mostly sitting in my cupboard. Protein powder is fine, too, but this is fun in smoothies – it already has both the gums in it!

I also spent a nice night in the kitchen. Mildly productive. I made, perhaps literally, my weight in icing.  Not at all conducive to the type of day I would like to have that would have started with that smoothie. But cake class should be lots of fun tomorrow night.

Regardless, dinner was not frosting!  I consider this a step in the right direction.  It was thrown together, because I decidedly got carried away blending frosting and mixing “cookies” until 8:00 PM, but well-balanced and really tasty!  Soy chicken parm with provolone and brussels sprouts with olive oil:

This was followed by a mini baking session… recipe to follow within a couple of weeks.  I don’t think this will be the final recipe I use, but they’re pretty close.  I need some healthy, protein snacks for when I travel in 2 weeks.

TGIT.  Compared to yesterday, it was a pretty great day.

