Tags

, , , ,

I am worried about a possible cold coming around, so I decided on a green smoothie for dinner tonight.  I had pizza for lunch; I will never want for calories.  This little bugger had 1/2 vanilla soy milk & 1/2 water, 1/2 frozen banana, a little handful of strawberries, and 1/2 scoop of chocolate whey protein, followed by a handful of ice, 1/8 tsp guar gum, and 1/8 tsp xanthan gum.  I think this was the ticket!  Nothing gross to speak of; the consistency was just thick and creamy.  *edited* Oh right.  And the spinach.  Wow.  Let’s chalk this up to my smushy brain tonight because of the maybe-cold.  I tossed in a good handful, and then (favoring all the vitamins possible over the potential weird flavor) another – it turned out great.

From my room, I heard my parents yell, “You should take a picture of this!”  They had made eggplant parm for dinner, and were actually joking about how I should photograph it because they were so pleased with it.  I told them it would be no time until they stopped thinking I was crazy and jumped on board with my hobby.  :-p

She saw me snap the picture, and said, “The spatula was in there.”  Hahaha.  Maybe she’ll teach me a thing or two.  (They were cooked in yesterday’s sausage-filled red sauce, so I can’t say how delicious they were.  I think the answer was a lot.)

~ ~ ~
I made yam slices on Sunday, with the chubbiest yam I’ve ever purchased.  The big ones were all the same price!  I couldn’t resist.

I got the basic times and temps from Kath and her “low and slow” slices.  Perfection!  I tried out some fries a few weeks ago, and they didn’t impress me.  They were good, but really only because I like sweet potatoes.  They took a long time, and weren’t fry-consistency after all my efforts.  These, though, were right up my alley.

I cut them up (some in half, because the slices were, dare I say it, too gigantic), coated the pan, tossed them up, and added some Old Bay seasoning (hello, old friend; I’m sorry I don’t eat you on crabs anymore).  They cooked at 350* for 30 minutes, and then up to 400* for another 20.  Delightful.  They were part of my favorite dinner in a long time.  My parents teased that it was such a spread I had.  But it was colorful, and healthy, and lovely.

Brussels sprouts in olive oil, sweet potato slices with ketchup, and a fried egg on a piece of toast with an interesting new Laughing Cow wedge.  I want these slices in my life.

