Tags

, , , , ,

Lunch was another 30-second, throw-the-fridge-into-a-pile success.

I used 1/2 the grilled farmers market veggies, pinto beans & american cheese, in one of the 71-calorie whole wheat tortillas.  I also realized as I started the microwave that I had a bag of baby spinach that has yet to see a smoothie this week.  I tossed a handful on top of the veggies, and it was perfect when everything was hot.

And then after work…

That’s right, I had pancakes for dinner.  And they were awesome.  🙂  I found the easiest recipe from a Vegetarian Times earlier in the year, and tweaked it into my favorite pancakes in the world.  White whole wheat flour, some ground flax seeds, and sliced strawberries.  Yum yum.

So I was all set for cake decorating after that, since I was done with sweets.  It was a fun class.  The whole month will just be basic techniques, so nothing very showy.  But it’s all stuff I would not have worked through on my own.  My teacher is so adorable.  She showed us how to make clowns (which will never, ever come out of my kitchen), and baby booties.  That wasn’t our class, though; those were just her sweet asides.

We decorated a single-tier round cake.  And I have never been more disorganized.  Haha.  I haven’t felt the need to get things situated ahead of time, because the cake class is in the “fun” category in my head.  Well, I did bake last night, and made sooooo much icing.  I forgot my cake spinner at home, forgot a tube of piping gel, no towel, no washcloth, no good wipey-thing for covering the cake.  But it was all fine.  Everyone was helpful and all about sharing.  I wrote out a list on my HTC (!!!) during class so I won’t be sad about forgetting the same things two weeks in a row.  *As an aside, her name is Josephine.  My T-Mobile My Touch 3G.  It came to me at work today.

(My finger didn’t lob off the side until I was packing up.  Ta-ragedy.  Thankfully, this cake’s celebration will be very mellow, and unneccesary.)

It was a simple project, but I had a lot of fun.  I was accidentally wiggling around while Joy put the finishing touch on (glitter sprinkles), and she mistook my great mood after such a fun class for me being super pleased with the outcome.  I didn’t care about the design at all, but I’m pretty sure I learned the simple techniques, and it gave me my first good mood of the day.  Absolutely worth it.  I think I’m going to sign up for the other two classes, as well.  🙂

On the way home, I went to Barnes & Noble for a nonfat pumpkin spice latte, which is now resting in my fridge.  An awesome idea from Nyssa, so I have a chilled latte in the morning!  (I hate regular iced lattes.  But I have extremely high hopes for this guy.  And if he’s bad, he’ll just get heated up.)

Then, I decided I should continue decorating, since the only thing I had to do was to be asleep already, and there was still icing in the bag that was about to go down the sink.  Psh.

That was what we learned last week, but I didn’t like it on the cookies.  I must just be in it for the squishy baked goods.

