A sales manager I worked with passed away yesterday. For most of us, it was unexpected. He was at work every day, and walked out Thursday afternoon after work…

I received a ridiculous email today about it, telling me to carpe diem. I understand the sentiment behind it, but the email itself was unnecessary. I have been thinking a lot about it – what I want to experience, what I want to accomplish… I started work on a list today. I’ve come up with little lists before, but this one has it all… I was inspired by Heather at Then Heather Said (I found her through the Healthy Living Summit’s online presentations) and her 101 in 1001 – 101 things to accomplish in 1001 days. I started thinking about what I’d like to look back and have done in the 2.75 years and realized I’d need some more time. I got to a 101 in 3 million list (3 million years, or something like 5.7 years). And then I realized I won’t be putting a time line to it for now.

I won’t share it just yet, but I’ve written down a lot more bullets than I have before. It was more positive today than my normal “I’ve fallen behind” thought process, I think in part because of reading the beginning of Heather’s blog. It sort of grounded it all in my head… I think I’m not making much sense any more, so I’ll wrap this up. It’s so overwhelming, but I’m still back and forth between disbelief and sadness. I don’t want to think about it when I can help it. It was a very sad day, but one where my reflections for myself had a hopeful tone. I’m sure it will crash down again when I walk into work, but it has left me at the same time scared of how fleeting things can be, and also knowing how much someone can accomplish and see in the time they have. I guess all we can really do is pray, hope, and keep going…

