Tags

, , , ,

Nights of staying up later than I should have, in favor of Dawson’s Creek and games of gin, was not the best idea for waking up on time for work again this morning. I wanted to put to use my new soup-mug-made-for-breakfast and my maple syrup. And even though I was more than ready to sleep in my own, wonderful bed, I did not close my eyes until too late as usual. Whoops.

I gave up the idea of waking up early to fawn over some steel-cut oats in favor of trying to sleep a little longer.  I had a multigrain english muffin with a 1/2 serving of peanut butter powder and some raspberry Swarmbustin’ Honey.

I decided to make some steel-cut oats for dinner instead. Very plain, with my brand new grade b maple syrup from Mapleland Farms. (And now I have two ready-to-go breakfasts for this week, since I made three servings. Maybe that will kick-start some better eats after coming down off the holiday weekend.)

I also accidentally cleaned off the batters from my cookie dough. I needed “flat cookies” for my first cake decorating class tomorrow night!! Yes, cookies to decorate at a cake class. I’m guessing this is so the first week is simple, and she can tell us what we’ll really need ready for next week.  I just picked out a basic butter cookie.  It called for OJ, which I swapped for milk, and I used 1.5 cups all-purpose flour to 1 cup white whole wheat flour.  Never a cookie I would have picked on my own, but they’ll be good for sharing once they’re covered in icing.

This was my background while baking. How cute is my dad? 🙂

Baking was accompanied by my first ever episode of Glee. It did not disappoint. But I do not know if it would be as good outside the kitchen. Fueled by way too much cookie batter from earlier, I may or may not have danced around the kitchen while slicing my chilled cookie logs. It won me over with a good-looker singing and prancing around in a vest and dress shirt. I am a sucker for a guy in a great vest and rolled sleeves.

