Tags

, , ,

I am not OK with the idea that today is September. I might just not go along with it. Oh, shoot. I switched my desk calendar a few nights ago from May to September, thinking that at least it would be right twice this year. I guess it’s too late to pretend it will be summer forever… Stupid pre-planning.  Oh, well.

Happy anniversary to me! Kristen, Sweetly is one month old. It’s a small accomplishment, true, but I’m pretty thrilled about it. I have a nasty habit of loving every idea that I come across. I love my passion, and I really hope I never stop being so interested in everything… But it oftentimes leads to a lot of little things teetering out quickly when I realize I only liked the idea of them. In celebration, I present to you a virtual muffin. If I could include a virtual taste, I would, because you deserve this candle-topped delight, too.  It was originally an adaptation from this recipe.

Good Morning Starshine Muffins

Ingredients
1.25 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1.5 tbsp vital wheat gluten
2 tsp baking powder
0.5 tsp baking soda
0.75 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
* * * * *
0.25 cup + 1 tbsp water
2 tbsp OJ concentrate
1 tbsp ground flaxseed
1 egg
1 cup vanilla yogurt
2/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
2 tbsp canola oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp orange zest
* * * * *
1.5 cups blueberries
1 tbsp sugar

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Spray a 12-cup muffin tin (I use Pam for Baking, but it always makes the edges darker than I want them because of the extra flour.)
Sift together the first set of ingredients.

Combine second set of ingredients in another bowl, and whisk until it’s frothy.

Pour the wet and the dry into one bowl, and mix casually until just incorporated.  Use an ice cream scoop to drop the muffins into the pan!  I love this trick… even though I heard it years ago and hadn’t tried it until tonight (and we’re ignoring the little guy in the front row.  i guess they just wouldn’t be my muffins if they actually came out uniform).

Run down to the basement to get the blueberries if you forgot them.  It’s better to leave frozen blueberries frozen, anyway.  Fresh shouldn’t give you any problems, but I can’t keep fresh in the house longer than a day before we’ve eaten them all.  For frozen, pour some out just before the muffins go into the oven, and push in one at a time.  It’ll usually keep them from turning sad shades of purple.  Then sprinkle the muffins with sugar.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden enough for your liking.  I usually go for more underdone than overdone baked goods, but I was involved in a game of Jeopardy with my dad, so they went straight through, and they came out great.  Let sit for a few minutes, and then transfer them to a rack to cool off.  Or eat them all immediately.  I love the orange with the berries.  Maybe it’s because I’ve never had an orange muffin before, but that sticks with me more than the blueberry aspect.  Two purple stained thumbs up.

Per muffin (slathering of butter not included): 194 calories, 3 grams fat, 4 grams fiber, 6 grams protein.  Mm mm, mmmmm.

