Tags

, , ,

I owe you my pizza recipe from Sunday night. It was all thanks to Emily‘s polenta pizza post. One of the topping ideas also came from Kristy.

I was not hungry for anything before dinner, and I ended up having two small slices, and not understanding at all why I was so stuffed.  It may have had something to do with breakfast-time being the following:

Yes, that’s right.  I ate breakfast at 2:00 PM on Sunday. And it was even more spectacular because of it.  (Classic pumpkin oatmeal topped with walnuts.  I decided that this was my most appropriate leaf-covered bowl for stuffing with pumpkin autumn-y oats.  I’m still in love with summer.  Don’t worry.  I know you weren’t.  Tomorrow morning holds big plans of strawberry-filled oats.)

I didn’t use the pool.  I just sat next to it and let my feet soak in the vitamin D.  I read!  ( 🙂 )

Until this happened:

The photo probably doesn’t do it justice.  Such a harsh downpour, everything from the windows out was just white.  I fled.  And without further ado, pizza!

Ingredients

* 3/4 cup cornmeal

* 1.75 cup, minus 1 Tbsp, water

* 3/4 tsp salt

* bit of black pepper

– – – – – – –
* homemade red sauce (maybe 3/4 cup)

* small onion

* 1/4 cup part-skim ricotta cheese

* 1/2 ounce blue cheese (definitely optional; I like it, but it made it a particularly stinky pie… or it made me taste particularly stinky afterward)

* 3 ounces shredded part-skim mozzarella

* the remains of a zucchini (maybe 1/2 of a small)

Casual Directions

* Heat a pot over medium (it was about a 4). Spray with olive oil, and toss in large-diced onion. Cook and stir until translucent and beginning to caramelize. Set on a plate.

* In the same pot, boil the water, then whisk constantly and slowly stir in the cornmeal, S & P. Keep whisking until it gets thicker and starts to pull away from the pot.

* Spray a baking dish (mine was about a 13″ x 9″) and spread the polenta into it. Note:  You might want to give it some time to cool down, as I started pressing it with my hands, and scorched myself at least 4 times before admitting it hadn’t cooled off in 30 seconds. After it cools, it sort of hardens, but if you keep wetting your hands and take your time, it will mold to the pan. This size made a thin crust.

* Spray the polenta with olive oil, then cover with some red sauce, leaving the edges naked for the “crust.” It wasn’t thick, but there were good chunks of tomato in mine.

* Drop bits of ricotta across the sauce, and pat down flat. If using, crumble the blue cheese and spread across, as well.

* Plop on all the fried onions.  (Next time, I’ll replicate more closely one of our new favorite toppings from our old favorite pizza place.  I think they use red onions, but they are very small, and sort of melt under the cheese.  These were delicious.  But that will be the next version.)

* Shred the zucchini with a box grater, squeeze out excess water, cover it in paper towels and squeeze again. Add to the shredded mozzarella cheese, and cover the pizza.  This might be the best step ever, and of course, no credit is due to yours truly.  :-p

* Bake at 375 degrees F for 40 minutes.

This made 4 servings of 2 small slices. (A serving would definitely have been 3, or 4, of these small slices on a normal day. Read: if I hadn’t eaten breakfast at 2:00 in the afternoon! Happy Sunday.) Topped at the table with oregano and garlic salt, as per usual.

The pizza was fun.  It doesn’t taste like pizza because in my head, it’s topped polenta.  It was good topped polenta, though.  The corner pieces, I held… the middle pieces got a knife and fork because they were pretty floppy.

I think next time, I would leave the blue cheese off.  I might be a little burnt out on blue cheese, though.  It was my first time buying the real stuff, and it’s a far cry from a few gorgonzola crumbles on top of a salad.  Also, paired with the fried onions, if the opportunity had considered presenting itself, I wasn’t kissing anyone after dinner.

Tonight was a heat-mix-assemble dinner of some fake buffalo chicken tenders, millet, and blue cheese topping.  It was good.  I like meat swaps that aren’t masquerading as meat… like tempeh!  These were decent.  I miss boneless buffalo wings sometimes; I like the little fake nuggets with the breading on them the best.  But enough about dinner…  All I’m thinking about right now is the big bowl of oatmeal I want tomorrow morning.  I’m thinking pumpkin, strawberries, Crofter’s Asia, and crispy almond butter.

