Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Fruit salad is one of my favorite meals. I thought I hated it, but only before I tried fixing it at home. I used to hate every kind of melon (not to mention a mile-long list of every other healthy food). So now, I would eat a fruit salad purchased just about anywhere. Who am I kidding? I would consume one from a gas station before I passed it by.

I like them layered, and jammed into a take-along container, so I can wait for morning hunger to strike.

I know breakfast is the most important meal of the day; it’s my favorite one. But it doesn’t benefit my eating later if I load up on a big bowl of something before I’m actually ready for it. It makes me eat more throughout the day. So I like to plan out something lovely, but take it to work as a stow-away. Fruit salad, I love, because it’s full of vitamins, and takes forever to eat a breakfast-worthy portion. I know it’s full of sugar, and maybe not the best go-to breakfast because of that, but if I’m 80% oatmeal with some fruit salads larger than my arm thrown in along the way, I call that victory.

I don’t know that the nutrients would keep me as full as anything else I would have for breakfast, but when I start eating it at 10:00 AM and nurse it for half an hour, it’s safe to say I can usually make it to lunch. It feels so freaking refreshing and clean in the summer… Like I just stole it all from a farm and am eating it laying in a field somewhere. Why it conjures this image for me, the world may never know.

Monday’s breakfast salad consisted of a cup and a half of strawberries, a kiwi, a peach donated by my aunt from a farm stand down the road, and 1/2 of a mango, topped with 1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt.

Tuesday’s breakfast was neck-and-neck.  I used the rest of the mango, about 3/4 cup strawberries, an overflowing 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk, a packet of Splenda, & 1/2 cup of millet I had cooked the night before (using Emily’s techniques).  It was good!  I haven’t ventured often into the grain-turned-into-sweet-breakfast genre, but it was definitely just what I’d hoped it would be.  It reminded me of my grandmom. Whenever we had extra white rice from take-out, my mom would tell me about how grandmom used to cook it and top it with sugar and milk for breakfast…  sort of like a more breakfast-worthy rice pudding, or a really easy way to use up take-out rice.

After work, dinner revolving around a bowlful of plantains, and some Labor Day research, I made a small decision to do something good for myself tonight, and had such a great time.  I decided to spend an hour incorporating everything I considered for a mellow, feel-good night.

Yep!  I got my butt in gear (just 15 minutes later than I had written down in my calendar), and headed to the gym.  I didn’t go for an intense workout; I went to have a chill, nice time.  I realize that might sound weird, but I wanted time set aside to read.  I don’t know why I haven’t been doing it very much at home, so I decided to try it on the treadmill.  Sometimes walking clears my mind.  That’s why it worked out so well tonight.  I never pushed to my fastest walk, I just kept it slow and steady for 52 minutes.  I read.  And I also had Iron & Wine coming through my headphones.  I was going for a bedtime workout, if you will.  It was so. delightful. I had hoped that if I kept my heart rate from pumping, I would be more prepared to lay my head down right about now.  I’m not sure yet if that’s the case, but I will find out soon enough.

