Tags

, , , , , , ,

Pumpkin pie yogurt, after my Wawa treat, for breakfast this morning! 1/2 cup pure pumpkin, 1/2 cup Chobani nonfat plain Greek yogurt, 2 packets of Splenda, a few big dashes pumpkin pie spice, tsp of vanilla. This had a good flavor, but I was not OK with the texture. Until I added Fiber One original! Then, it was like super healthy pumpkin pie in a mug. I’m not sure if I’ll still prefer my pumpkin things warm over cold.  If I’m pretending it’s fall, I should probably go all the way with it.  This is all I had time for this morning before taking a much-loved shower and getting ready for the barbecue.

The Hula Party was fantastic! It went on for hours, and was a very leisurely, chatty time. Everyone had cameras out. The resident candid-photographer had his DSLR cradled in his lap, and kept grabbing his new little point-and-shoot from his chest pocket. I thought it was a riot. Regardless of the photographs, I was definitely the only one snapping my food. The two people who caught me had some high eyebrows. I started laughing, told them I was starting a food blog, it was my first time taking photos for it somewhere other than in my house, and I’m afraid I’ll get people staring at me all the time! They are adorable, and thought starting a food blog was a great hobby. It was just the first time I tried “sneaking” my food photos in a public realm. It’s not like it’s embarrassing… it’s just weird to my groups of friends, I’m sure. I guess it’s sort of how I kept the veg thing a secret for a couple of months until I couldn’t help it any longer. My family wasn’t easy about it, but everyone else just let me go. I’m sure this will be more of the same.  🙂

I got a little tour around the backyard, and got to see the secluded little spot Carrie designed to do yoga.

There were little food tents they found at the dollar store. I believe I clapped when I saw these.

Decorations complete with a silly wine bottle outfit compliments of Ele for the party.

I chose very light options for my lunch. We mostly just talked through dinner, since lunch was late in the afternoon. Two types of awesome fruit salad, x2 giant bowlfuls for me throughout the 7-hour-long afternoon (blackberries, raspberries, blueberries, cantaloupe, strawberries, green grapes, watermelon, & pineapple):

A Morningstar Farms Grillers Prime burger – my big veggie burger option at home (I chose tomato and spicy mustard instead of ketchup and cheese like I normally would.  In my head, this combatted what was to come.)

And a healthy take on pasta salad from Fran (whole wheat penne in equal measure with green and red pepper, tomato, red onion, a sprinkle of parmesan cheese, and fat free Italian dressing) – so good.

To round it out, however, I had a lot of desserts. The cookie bar cupcakes were a huge hit, which was great, considering how fun it was licking the bowl and how easy assembly was. I’m feeling a little drab, though, after so. much. sugar. But I have good, real food planned for most of the week, so it should balance out pretty well. (And maybe another feel-good yoga class or two!) My car-full of people left the party around 8:00, and we stopped in their town for ice cream. The peach and birthday cake flavors were calling my name. (No photo from the ice cream parlor, and I don’t think it’s because I was worried about the photo op! :-p This group really does love hobbies. I just didn’t think about it and left my camera abandoned in the car. I will get better at that. :-p)

This kid stole my heart all afternoon! I was told the feeling was mutual.

It’s time for bed; to bed, I said.

