Tags

, , , ,

So my next meal effort stolen from Heather is a rendition of protein overnight oats.  Last night, I combined: 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 cup water, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, & 1 packet of Splenda.

This morning, I stirred it up a lot, then added 1 scoop of Vega Vanilla Chai health optimizer… basically a vegan protein powder, but with a lot of other great-for-you, fancy things.

This is 1/2 a serving; I don’t need all the components that make it a meal or a fix for athletes.  Also, one note if you’re considering it…  it’s green!  For some reason, I never considered that this protein-plus powder would be green.  It is.  I don’t mind at all; it just threw me for a loop when I glanced into my mixing cup my first go.

My second and final note, remember the “chai” component, and don’t be as silly as I was, mixing orange concentrate and the like with it, wondering why it tasted so awful.  It’s not just vanilla.  The chai is good, but in my opinion, a lot of things clash with it.  If I needed the vegan aspect, or was looking for a meal replacement of sorts, this would be perfect.  But as it is, I think I’ll go back to my original whey protein, unless I find anything new and exciting (at GNC, maybe?) after my current supply is used up.

So the protein overnight oats were green.  This was not a concern for me… I considered stowing them in a non-clear container for taking to work, but I didn’t think about it last night, and decided not to worry about it in my precious morning moments.  But today, I did not sneak unseen to my desk when I grabbed it from the kitchen.  A lot of noses were upturned at this guy.

Eating it at 11:00 AM, and getting to-dos shuffled around at work, meant I wasn’t hungry for lunch but also didn’t have a chance to take one.  I snacked on some things from a meeting held near the department… and just partook in some stuffed shells from mama!  We have not made them in at least three years.  How could I say no?  (There was one more after these.)

They were pretty fantastic.  I suppose I should consider going to the gym sometime this week.  Or maybe do one of my silly workout tapes in my room!  I think the decision has just been made.  On that note…

I still find myself struggling sometimes with controlling my feelings about food, and what I’m putting into my body.  I always had problems with my weight and some issues with food.  I lost a good bit of weight in high school, then gained it back (and then some) in college.  The past two years have definitely been my healthiest overall, and when I started paying attention to nutrition and taking care of myself.  The vegetarian thing, the (semi-on-hold) yoga thing, and all my other little steps have contributed so much.  And Weight Watchers has helped me establish that even though sometimes it’s still difficult, there are so many others dealing with the same things I am (not to sound like a spokesperson, hahaha).  It’s like a little mini restart button every week, that makes sure I’m reminded it’s not about hurting or pushing myself too hard.  I’ve never been able to stay at a stable weight for any long period of time, but I think it’s more about the healthy choices behind it than anything else, and that’s the greatest difference this time for me.

I think maybe I’m rambling to remind myself of all this.  I’ve struggled with binge eating in the past, and not to get into it too much tonight – because I’m getting sleepy, and have high hopes to do a little bedroom yoga before I shut my eyes – I still have tendencies to go heavy on the guilt, and all-or-nothing thinking that’s just not a good place to go.  Angela’s post on the subject was good to read… just a sweet reminder that it’s a struggle a lot of women have, and that it shouldn’t cause shame like it does.  And all of Heather‘s writing about her journey with losing weight, and then taking care of her body, like this post, have been so comforting to me recently.  It makes me consider my motivation for why I do a lot of what I do, and what I could change up to put it all in a more positive light.  🙂  Boy, just thinking about writing this has made me feel better.  I am honestly interested in the healthiest things for my body, but that’s also about making decisions that make me happy, too.  I think day-to-day for me, it will be constantly learning how to get to the balance.

~ ~ ~
If we don’t change direction soon, we’ll end up where we’re going.
– Professor Irwin Corey

