Tags

, , , ,

My Wawa treat this morning came in a smaller package but packed a fancier treat. I downgraded to a 12 oz, but the mix in here was the following approximations: 5 oz french vanilla cappuccino, 3 oz hot chocolate, 4 oz coffee. So. SO. Good.

Breakfast following my meeting and grocery shopping was actually a nod to the “dinner” category. That’s where it’ll be listed. It was not a breakfast-tailored quesadilla whatsoever; just a run-of-the-mill dinner.  But it hit the spot so hard at 10:45 this morning. (I also just rounded out the day with really ugly but delightful made-from-scratch strawberry wheat pancakes, and now a pot of rooibos tropica tea.)

My quesadilla included peppers, onions, garlic, and mushrooms, refried black beans, a wedge of light laughing cow spreadable swiss cheese, a plum tomato, 2 oz avocado, a tiny squirt of lime juice, and lots of fresh cilantro.

This is my high-tech photo of “refrying” the black beans.  I measured out a serving, and in the measuring cup while I was waiting, added a glug of water, cayenne pepper, cumin, and coriander.  Then I added it to the pan, hoped the smoke detector didn’t notice, and played around smashing with a fork.

All inside a brand-new wheat tortilla (made by Ole, called “xtreme wellness” tortillas!) that I’m giving two thumbs up. They’ve got 71 calories, 2 g fat, 12 g fiber, 6 g protein, and actually taste like any other tortillas I’ve had on hand – simple and fantastic.  I attempted to eat this monstrosity with my hands exactly once.  There was so much food in this food.  But absolutely worth it.  I wasn’t hungry for another meal until my pancakes around 6:30 PM.  And when I considered it, I probably would have gotten just as many calories from a frozen processed lunch (which I still have on hand for weekdays, haha) and been hungry … essentially when I was finished eating.  Breakfast of champions, right here.  :-p

I got it closed!  (Mostly.)

