Tags

, , ,

Just got in from visiting with dad.  We’re all in decent spirits tonight; the big deal today went pretty well.  Now it’s just some waiting and seeing.  I’ve always played around with the idea that I’d have had such a good time being born in an earlier generation.  I’m a bit out of step with mine sometimes.  But I am so thankful for every advancement that’s been made, so thankful that today went well for my papa.  We’ll see how everything works out in the next couple of days.

I made a big batch of oatmeal this morning, to knock some normalcy into my diet with some feel-good food.  I was not interested in them.  I ate them all, but this morning was hectic and full of worry.  It was nice, though, that my stomach had a lot of good things in it to last me through until late this afternoon.

The mix today was 1/2 quick oats and 1/2 old-fashioned rolled oats.

I reached in to get my measuring cup for the water….  My only response was, “Well, that’s not good.”  My mom turned around from the sink, lost it, and immediately called my dad to laugh at me with him.

Hahaha.  So, I was a little completely scatterbrained yesterday morning, while fixing my coffee to run out to work.  Worse has happened in this house.  When the photo made its way around, my brother and sister went into the story from when they were really little, and were prompted by my dad: “OK, anyone who can find the liverwurst and cheese gets a dollar.”  They actually ransacked their house, and eventually one of them found it in the oven.  Hahaha.  At least I know I get it from somewhere!!!

The oats also included 1/2 tbsp each of ground flax seed, wheat germ, and chia seeds, 2 packets of Splenda, a big glug of vanilla, and a pinch of salt (which I forgot for a while and couldn’t figure out why I hated my oats so much).

Before its last 20 seconds in the microwave, I added about 1/3 cup cottage cheese.  And then I stole a bunch off the top before I mixed and heated it.

The bowl was transferred to a mason jar when I realized I didn’t have time for a feast before work, like I keep trying to convince myself I do.  And then, the wonderful toppings: a serving of mixed up peanut butter powder (2 tbsp pb2 with a tbsp water), and about 1.5 tbsp of Crofter’s Asia.  I am so glad I followed Kath’s opinion blindly on this one (even though in that referenced post, she doesn’t prefer Asia) and bought the lot last weekend at Wegman’s.

~ ~ ~
And I got my self-gifted present in the mail today!!!  Look at this little beauty.  I had one in college, but a very long story short, I angrily decided to pretend I didn’t have it, and throw it into my packing up for home without considering it.  I lost the lid in the process, and then mysteriously lost the whole thing.  It’s better in the end, anyway, that this little guy has no negativity associated with his beginnings.  😉

I might get up with my alarm tomorrow to sit down with a pot of tea before getting ready for the day.  Decaf something, just to try it out, and then take a mug of coffee to work.

~ ~ ~
Forever is composed of nows. – Emily Dickinson

